218: Instagram Stories Update: Resize Square & Horizontal Photos & Videos

Mike Murphy
2 min readApr 8, 2018

New Updates to Instagram Stories

Versions:
iOS Version of Instagram in this tutorial: 39.0 (April 2018)

New Updates (March 2018)

  1. Resize Square & Horizontal Photos & Videos in Instagram Stories
  2. Upload Photos & Videos older than 24 Hours in Camera Roll
  3. Dates Automatically Added to Photos & Videos over 24 Hours Old from Camera Roll
  4. Gradient Background Added to Square & Horizontal Formats

The Step By Step Tutorial (Text):

  1. Open Up Instagram Stories
  2. Swipe Up or Down on Screen to Open Camera Roll
  3. Upload any Vertical, Square or Horizontal (Landscape) Photo or Video (Animated Gifs not supported as uploads but you can add gifs from GIF search)
  4. Pinch in the Corners to Resize Square or Horizontal Photos & Videos
  5. Gradient Background Automatically Added to Square & Horizontal Photos & Videos. Colors pulled from the photo or video. (Colors cannot be modified, changed or deleted).
  6. Dates Automatically Added to Photos & Videos older than 24 hours from Camera Roll
  7. Tap on Dates to Change Colors or Drag to Trash Can to Delete
  8. Markup with Brushes, Add Stickers, Emojis, Text, etc.
  9. Upload to Stories
Resize in Instagram Stories

The Step By Step Tutorial (Video):

How to Resize Square & Horizontal Formats in Instagram Stories

Subscribe to My YouTube Channel:
https://mikemurphy.co/youtube

Gear I Use:
➜See All My Gear: http://www.mikemurphy.co/podgear

Can I Help You?

I create content and help people figure things out.

I make podcasts and videos that teach people how to make better content.

Check out my YouTube Channel

My name is Mike Murphy, I’m a one man band and podcaster.
Learn. Create. Move Forward.
@mikeunplugged on Twitter or Instagram

--

--

Mike Murphy

Podcast & Tech Handyman. I make tutorials and help people figure things out. Email: mike@mikemurphy.co